Homeschool Preschool

October 8, 2007 at 8:22 am 2 comments

I have every intention, at this point, to try the traditional public school system.  However, I’m just not sure that Moo Moo will thrive there.  He is very energetic and I’m almost positive he has ADHD.  I will not medicate him unless it becomes absolutely necessary and I know, through experiences my friends have dealt with, that our local school district is big on the medication.  “Just medicate them and they’ll do great,” is their view point.  They don’t care about any of the long term effects of the medicines or helping to teach the children how to live with ADHD.  So we are homeschooling for at least the first two years, preschool.  I chose this route for a couple different reasons but mainly because Moo Moo is an August babe and I’m really not sure when I will start him in Kindergarten.  I don’t want to send him to preschool/pre-k for three years.  It just doesn’t feel right for our family.  Doing that would put him in school for a total of sixteen years, plus college, it just doesn’t feel right for me to push him off and send him away when I know that I can handle preschool.  Plus we get to do lots of fun things together that are my learning tools.  We go to museums, orchards, farms, train stations, local festivals, etc.  We have a playgroup that we just started going to help him with socialization, which he desperately needs.  Plus we do all different sorts of church activities. 

Moo Moo is definitely a non-traditional learner as well.  I tried to teach him his alphabet and that just wasn’t working out.  I was frustrated and so was he.  I couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong.  Why wouldn’t he learn this?  Finally I decided to try to teach him the letters in his name, Bingo!  He didn’t want to learn the letters in the “correct” order, so we are learning them in whatever order he so chooses.  So, no he doesn’t know the alphabet song- but he does know and recognize about half of the alphabet.  Wow!  I never thought I would be teaching the alphabet in a random order, but here I am!  🙂  Moo Moo teaches me something new everyday with his learning style.  I am constantly amazed that he can learn this way, as it is totally different from my learning style.  Yet another reason to follow my heart and teach him at home for at least these first few years.

Entry filed under: Moo Moo. Tags: , , , , .

Hello world! Wrinkles is Crawling!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melina  |  December 20, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    very interesting. i’m adding in RSS Reader

  • 2. GamerMomma  |  September 24, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    congrats on progression with Moo Moo teaching letters in my daughters name is how I started my daughter on learning the alphabet. it’s alot more interesting and a cooler experieince for them

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



