Wishful Wednesday: I wish my mom wasn’t losing her job.

October 18, 2007 at 12:21 am Leave a comment

In seven short working days my mom will be unemployed.  As long as I can remember my mom has always worked a full time job.  She was a SAHM for my first six months of life until she started spending lots of money and my dad thought it was time for her to go back to work.  I think she was ready anyway and my dad just gave her the go ahead.  She doesn’t have a glorious job; she is a factory worker at Maytag in Newton, Iowa.  I remember as a child she was always worried about losing her job because of movements that would take place within the company eventually I learned that she was just preparing herself for the worst case scenario and that most likely it wasn’t going to happen.  She always worried about strikes when contract time came around and again it was just prepping herself for worst case scenario that would never happen. 

Then two years ago at contract time there was a strike.  Mom went out right away and got another job working at a local hospital in assisted living.  She really enjoyed it but it was from the very begining just a job to get her by during strike and her boss knew that.  The strike didn’t last too long and she was back at her factory job.

Now she is losing her job.  I still can’t believe it.  It will be odd for my mom not to be working.  She is still trying to decide what to do with her life after Maytag.  This is what she has known for the last eighteen and a half years.  Now she faces the decision of what to do now: should she take a different job making considerably less? or should she go to college and get a degree?.  She has decided that she will take a little bit of time off to make some decision that she feels is right.  Personally I think she should go to college for nursing but that is a very scary thought for her.  We’ll see what happens. 

I just wish she didn’t have to deal with this although I realize it is just another chapter of life. 

Entry filed under: Wishful Wednesday.

Check out my new page: Free Contests Thankful Thursday- A loving husband

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



