The Dreaded Dentist

November 5, 2007 at 10:44 pm 1 comment

Today I mustered up the courage to go to the dentist for the first time since the miscarriage.. yes a year and a half ago.  I know I should go more often but I just dislike it so much.  For me it is a mixture of different things that fuel my fear of the dentist.  I’ve never had good teeth and therefore my memories and emotions that go with are rooted early in my childhood. 

My childhood dentist was creepy… he was old, he looked strange to me, and he wasn’t the nicest but he made these weird, stupid comments that were supposed to be funny.  I was more scared of him rather than the dentist but he treated the entire family so if was never an option for me to go somewhere else.  He really wasn’t very mean and usually tried to make me as comfortable as possible but the hygienist that he had was awful!!  In fact, to this day, I would rather see a dentist and skip the hygienist but that isn’t always possible.  When I was no longer eligible for my parent’s dental insurance I just didn’t go anymore.  That was simple enough… except I was letting my bad teeth get worse and worse.  Then I got a horrible tooth ache and went to see the local dentist in the small town where we live.  His solution, since I didn’t have dental insurance or very much money that I was willing to spend on my teeth at that point in my life, was to just pull the tooth.  I asked to be referred to an oral surgeon but he assured me he would be able to get it out without problems.  This was frightening to me but I figured I would be able to handle it.  They attempted to numb the area but despite the fact that I told them I could still slightly feel it he thought he would be able to get it out.  WRONG!!  It hurt so bad!  I cried my eyes out until he finally said that he wasn’t going to be able to pull it and he was sending me on to an oral surgeon.  Why wouldn’t he do that in the first place?  I went to the oral surgeon and they used something other than the Novocaine to numb, it worked great, and less than a minute later the tooth was out. 

Fast forward to now.  I have finally found a dentist that I really don’t mind going to see.  I still have to take an anti-anxiety pill before I can actually make it to an appointment but once I get there he is really good.  The prices at the group he practices with are a bit higher than others in the area but I am willing to sacrifice for someone who doesn’t lecture me every time I go but rather understands that at least I am there and willing to make an effort now.  He is getting his money from me regardless and there really isn’t a point in making me feel worse about going than I already do.  He explain just enough that I know what is going on but not so much that I allow myself to panic.  He is as gentle as I suppose a dentist can be and is always asking if I am okay or if I can feel anything other than pressure.  We have a treatment plan that will most likely take a couple of years to complete due to financial reasons but he is confident that we will get it all taken care of and salvage my teeth. 

Next appointment is in one week.  I’m already stressing about it even though I know I will be fine.  Moo Moo has his dental surgery this Friday to take care of his cavities partially caused by inherited weak enamel.  I’m not too stressed about that because he won’t remember any of it and he’s already had surgery (for something else) previously.  It won’t be the easiest thing but I know this is what we need to do for him and he will come through like a real trooper.

Entry filed under: Confessions, Ramblings. Tags: , , .

Getting back to normal The Depression Battle

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dental Insurance » The Dreaded Dentist  |  November 13, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    […] mytotalchaos wrote an interesting post today on The Dreaded DentistHere’s a quick excerptWhen I was no longer eligible for my parent’s dental insurance I just didn’t go anymore. That was simple enough… except I was letting my bad teeth get worse and worse. Then I got a horrible tooth ache and went to see the local dentist … […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



