Coming very soon to my house….

December 18, 2007 at 10:05 pm 1 comment

HIGH SPEED INTERNET!!  That’s right, I’m coming out of the dark ages and entering the new world of high speed.  This of course is coming to me via satellite due to living out in the middle of no-where.  The phone company hasn’t seen the need to replace the old copper lines with the new fiber optic lines so this is the only way for us to get high speed internet.  I’m told that satellite is not as fast as a regular (?) broadband connection but hey, anything has to be better than connecting at the lightening fast speed of……

are you ready…..

don’t laugh…… 

24 Kbps.  Yep that right folks.  That is the fastest we can connect- another aspect of country living is being far away from the nearest telephone sub station to even dial up at a decent speed. 

I won’t have to worry about it after Friday though.  Instead I will sit here patiently and wait for them to come and install my satellite sometime between 1 and 5 p.m.  Thanks for the exact time.  Err.  Oh well… I can deal with that in order to enjoy some of the things that have been impossible for me to even play with like YouTube, music downloads, online games, and even some of the funny emails people send me would take literally days for me to be able to read. 

I’m SO excited!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

The reason we finally decided to do it is because with me going back to college the slow internet has really been driving me crazy!  DH works crazy hours in the winter time and so going to a real, in person class will be almost impossible so I will be taking all my classes this coming semester online.  The only way I can do that is if we bite the bullet and pay a little extra for our internet.

Entry filed under: College, Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

Laundry… the not so simple task for me. Thankful Thursday- Christmas Innocence

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mama Podkayne  |  December 19, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Cool. It will really help you know!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



