Day 2

January 2, 2008 at 8:28 pm 2 comments

Today is day 2 of our New Year’s Resolution: to quit smoking.  This is something we have wanted/needed to do for a long time but it seemed our time-tables were never in sync.  Despite many attempts we remained smokers.  Today I can honestly tell you that I have not “cheated” at all.  I have not had a cigarette in over 36 hourse.  It hasn’t been the easiest feat in the world and the journey is no where close to being over.  However, it has gone better than expected.  The cravings have been pretty low key for me.  I do have cravings… sometimes multiple ones within a very short time frame but I try to ignore, occupy myself with something else, or just talk myself through it.  I was REALLY ready to quit and didn’t really enjoy it anymore so this, I think, has been a huge factor in my success thus far.  I have had a couple of headaches but nothing that some Tylenol hasn’t taken care of.  (Despite my wanting to go in a more natural direction this year, this just is not the time for that. I must deal with quitting smoking first.)  Yesterday I was extremely emotional… constantly crying, yelling at DH, not very patient with the kids, etc. but today has been a lot better. No tears, no screaming, more patient, much more myself.  I have opted to try to kick this habit without needing to use any aid.  Mostly due to the fact that we are still breastfeeding.  I know… I’ve smoked while breastfeeding but I didn’t smoke around the kids, close to feedings, or anything like that.  The aids: patches, pills, lozenges, have not been studied for use during breastfeeding so therefore they really just aren’t even an option.  Something I’ve done in the past is the use of my anti-depressants when I am going to try to quit smoking.  This hasn’t worked previously so I figured I’d give it a shot without and so far so good. 

So here’s to another day of being smoke-free and many more to come. 

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas Memories 07 Ramblings…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cigman  |  January 7, 2008 at 5:23 am

    I just quit last night, and am closing in on 24 hours. I am using both the patch with a nicotine chaser. I can’t imagine going it cold turkey! Hasn’t been too bad, but keep getting the urge to go out and have one.

  • 2. mytotalchaos  |  January 8, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I’m now on day 8 of being smoke free. It has not been easy but like I said, it’s something I really was ready to do. I think that is the key to whole think. You have to want to do it… not need to do it for x, y, or z. All the times I tried to quit before I wanted to quit because I needed to for various reason. This time I truely wanted to quit… I wasn’t enjoying it the way I used to- in fact it was almost making me sick every time I had a cigarette. Going cold turkey, in this way, hasn’t been any harder than it was when I tried to use various other methods of quitting. I still have cravings… lots of them but I am committed to not going back and that gets me through. The cravings now are still as frequent as they were on Day 1 for me but they pass sooner now.

    Enough rambling… this has almost turned inot it’s own post here.

    GOOD LUCK TO YOU in your quiting journey. Please stay in touch and let me know how you are doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



