The First Week

January 8, 2008 at 4:39 pm 2 comments

The first week of something new is always difficult.  I need to remember this.  All to often if the first week is not smooth sailing I want to quit and sometimes do.  Usually after the first week things get better though…. most likely even if I’ve already quit.?. 

This is apparent to me right now because it has been the first week of the new year, the first week of being smoke free, and the first week of the new semester. 

The new year didn’t start exactly as I had planned.  We have been faced with many things already this year that I just don’t want to have to deal with.  Financial, family, friendships, housing, organization, the list goes on… and on but I know in due time everything will work out and life will continue. 

Today is Day 8 of being smoke-free.  This, for sure, is something that I have thought about giving up within the first week but I know that I don’t want to do that.  It has been a struggle but everyday I get stronger and my body is healing, repairing the damage done.  Savings to date: approx. $120 between the two of us.  AWESOME!!  This is motivation enough to continue on despite the cravings.

I am really feeling like I want to run and hide from my classes this semester.  I thought last semester would be the hard one, going back, but it wasn’t too bad.  I survived and faired well all considered.  I am taking more classes this semester to get my GPA up.  Book issues in all of my classes is the first thing that is making me want to run… if I can’t even find the books I need how am I going to do the work.  However I know that soon I will have all the books I need (hopefully with only one more trip to the bookstore) and my courses will be just fine with a little work of course.

As I look back on other events, the first week is the hardest.  The first week being drug free was torture. I didn’t think I would survive my first week of motherhood.   I wanted to quit breastfeeding before the fist week was over.  The first week of grief after my miscarriage, I just wanted to die.  The first week of starting an exercise program was hard.  I thought I had made a terrible mistake during my first week of mothering 2 children.   But I survived all these things and persevered coming out stronger, smarter, and increasingly more ready for the next challenge that life throws my way. 

 Here’s to surviving the first week of your next challenge.

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Ramblings… What’s going on here…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mama Podkayne  |  January 9, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Hey, no worries. Books will be here soon, and I will post an alternate assignment.

    You are right though, the first phase of anything is the hardest.

  • 2. mytotalchaos  |  January 9, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    It wouldn’t be such a big worry if it were only one class… but it’s all 3 that I signed up for this semester. What are the chances of that?? Oh well, all in due time. Unfortunately not all professors see it as something they have to deal with and so I am just waiting patiently for the bookstore to get the books I need in stock.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



