Water Indulgence

March 17, 2008 at 10:34 pm 5 comments

I admit it.  I am hooked on bottled water.  Not just plain old bottled water, I can get that out of my faucet.  No… I want the really bad stuff for me.  The water with additives in it.  Flavored water is my friend, whom I need to discard forever.

Not only am a contributing to environmental waste but I am adding crap to my body every time I drink it.  BUT it tastes so good!  I like to tell myself that it’s not as bad as loading up on soda like I used to do.  But in reality I don’t think it’s any better- especially after reading some of the information tonight about a different “diet” I am considering.  Then there’s always the issue of cost involved.  We easily go thru a six pack of flavored bottled water 2-3 times per week around here.  ((I’m hiding right now))   When I add that all up it really seems like a waste.

If I could get water with some juice or something added to it to make it taste the same- I would! I haven’t figured that out though.  How do these manufacturers do it??? 

Entry filed under: Confessions. Tags: , , , , , .

“I don’t like it” A Great Diaper

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tom in East Longmeadow  |  March 27, 2008 at 9:24 am

    If you like lemon-water, use well water (for the minerals) and squeeze a bit of lemon juice in and try that. If it’s too sour, put a pinch or two of sugar in it.

    If you don’t have access to well water, get a counter top filter (such as a Brita or Pur) and run your tap water through it to get rid of any stuff that might be in it (chlorine, fluoride, etc.) and mix as above.

    Use the bottles that you already have. Rinse the insides with fairly warm, but not hot, water and carefully wash the outside, including the threaded area, with warm water and dishwashing liquid, being careful not to get any inside the bottle.

    Good luck. Have fun. Save money. (Invest in the stock market. Now’s a great time while it’s beaten down)

  • 2. mytotalchaos  |  March 28, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks for the tip of using well water. I do have access to well water so I will definetly give it a try. 🙂 I don’t know about the stock market though that’s kind of scary territory in my eyes … 🙂

  • 3. Tom in East Longmeadow  |  March 29, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Hi again,

    We have great water here in the Pioneer Valley of Massachusetts.

    We’re sort of in a unique position in that we live in a suburb of Springfield – a large city – and our town has municipal water, but we’re on a private dirt road which never got “hooked up” to the town services. (Well, we did connect to the sewer system a couple of years ago, but we had to pay for it. What a relief, though.)

    Anyway, the well is 222 feet down into an aquifer that runs from here down into Connecticut.

    I haven’t poked around the site here too much. Where are you located?

  • 4. mytotalchaos  |  April 1, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    We live in rural Central Iowa. We actually have water through the county not well water. However we have a neighbor who understands my “weirdness” and was happy to give me some well water. We still have well access outside but I’m not sure I want to drink water out of the hydrant. Maybe it would be ok… I don’t know? Anyway… I bought some fresh lemons today and will be trying this idea very soon now. I also noticed that there are water filter systems that let you add flavoring. I need to do some research as to if all the additives are found in the flavoring that we would rather just avoid if possible. Thanks so much for the advice! 🙂

  • 5. Tom in East Longmeadow  |  May 8, 2008 at 10:28 am

    You’re quite welcome. Hope it solves your dilemma.

    My daughter is convinced that vitaminwater© is worth a buck or more per bottle, and my son got sucked into the Gatorade© G2 marketing craze.

    At least I can get G2 on sale for maybe 70¢ occasionally, and it actually hydrates and replenishes electrolytes during soccer games. Nothing a banana wouldn’t do, though.

    I’ll check back to see what you’ve done.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



