Grades

April 17, 2008 at 10:43 pm 2 comments

When it comes to grades in my classes I have found that I am a little obsessive about them.  There are several reasons for this in my mind.  1.  I am paying for my education with little in the form of grants but lots in the form of loans.  2.  I feel the need to prove myself.  Not only to myself but to my husband, parents, and siblings.  This is not because of pressure they put on me but rather a redemption of sorts.  I want to prove to them that I can handle it all and succeed.  I want to prove that my past failures do not determine my future success.  3.  Self-satisfaction.  4.  The need to improve my GPA from first college attempt so that I can transfer to a different institution that offers the program that (I think) I would like to pursue. 

So here we are nearing the end of sprng semester.  Total points are starting to be calculated.  (Actually I have only one class left to finish up next week.)  I keep track of every single point that I get in all of my classes.  When there is a test or quiz I review them all to learn from my mistakes and to ensure that I recieved credit for correct anwers.  This semester I have found numerous times that a question was graded as incorrect when in fact my answer was correct.  I notify the professors and cite what page number in the text the correct answer is found.  If I miss points on assignments or quizes I seek out extra credit opportunities to earn those points back or correct them for points (as is the case in one of my classes). 

All of this leads me to the obsession.

In my psych class I am 3 points shy of having all available points for the semester.  That’s pretty good right?  The problem is that I was supposed to recieve 10 extra credit points but she forgot to add them to the grade book.  The points aren’t going to change the grade that I receive.  An A is an A BUT I want the satisfaction of knowing that I recieved all the points possible, making up those that I didn’t earn with extra credit. I keep telling myself it’s not a big deal however it is eating at me.  There really isn’t a point (that I know of, at least) as to why it should bug me.  On my transcript it will appear the same whether I recieve the points or not.  I don’t want to bother the professor with such trival matter.  If these points would change my grade in any way then I most definetly would contact her but that isn’t the case.

Maybe it will help if I just get it off my chest here.  Hopefully?!?   🙂

Entry filed under: College. Tags: , , , .

Quick Update It’s time for another giveaway!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mama Podkayne  |  April 21, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    🙂 3 points shy, eh? You know you got the extra credit, putting 7 points over. I know you did.

    More important to ask is: did you learn anything from the teacher or the class? If the answer is yes, then it doesn’t even matter if you passed.

    🙂

  • 2. mytotalchaos  |  April 21, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Perspective… you’re good with that! Thanks! I guess I needed to sit back and think about the value of what was learned rather than the points recieved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



